Artist/ Band: The Flyin' Ryan Brothers
Title: Totality
Label: Ryanetics Music
Year of Release: 2008
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

The Flyin' Ryan Brothers (Jimmy & Johnny) have been playing music for over 30 years now and have 8 albums under their belt (three of which are under other names and a solo). The multi-instrumentalist duo, Jimmy and Johnny Ryan are the core of the band, with Jimmy playing Electric Guitars, Lap Steel, Flutar, Glockenspiel, Sitar & Theremin. And Johnny providing Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Accordion, Sitar, and Keyboards. Joining the Brothers are William Kopecky (Bass) and Johnny Mrozek (Percussion and Drums), who provide a very tight rhythm section.

On ‘Totality’, it’s a nice mix of instrumental Blues, Hard Rock, Celtic and slightly psych feel. Highlights for me are the spacey opening title track, which segues into the rocking “Escape Velocity”. Another rocker that showcases the band’s unity is “Big Shotz”. “Cosmic Calypso” features the sitar. The second to last track, the beautiful ballad “Forever And Now” which segues into “Heritage reprise“ ( a fine end to a wonderful album). With these songs alone you feel like you’re in a wonderful ride of yesteryear without sounding retro.

For those longing for the warmth of compositions of yesteryear combined with modern production and some Celtic and pseudo-psych, The Flyin’ Ryan Brothers deliver with pride on their latest album “Totality. If you’re into bands like Wishbone Ash, Thin Lizzy or any melodic twin-guitar rock band, this is a recommended buy for you.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on Novemeber 9th, 2008


1. Totality
2. Escape Velocity
3. Heritage
4. The Choir Of Eden
5. The Crosses Of Annagh
6. Aeolian Rhapsody
7. Big Shotz
8. Free To Fly
9. Spirit's Call
10. Wes Is More
11. Cosmic Calypso
12. Now And Forever
13.Heritage Reprise

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2008,, All Rights Reserved.