Artist/ Band: Electric Swan
Title: Electric Swan
Label: Badchili Records
Year of Release: 2008
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Electric Swan is a new Italian retro hard rock band, which was created by guitarist Lucio Calegari of the band Wicked Minds. Based on samples, Wicked Minds has a more psychedelic sound, so my guess is that Lucio wanted to explore a hard rock sound apart from the band, thus the creation of Electric Swan. Joining Lucio are Paolo "Apollo" Negri (Hammond and synths), Ricky Lovotti ( drums), Enrico "Deep" Garilli & Edoardo Giovanelli (bass) and vocals by Sophya Baccini (Presence) and Luca "Mitch" Rancati (Tough).

The band is very similar sounding to classic bands like Deep Purple, Jefferson Airplane, Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath as well as newer bands like Bigelf, Black Bonzo and Wolfmother to name a few. There’s 11 tracks on this self titled debut including 3 cover songs, which are “Your Love Has Been Good To Me” (Ruth Copeland), “Teaser” (Tommy Bolin) and an interesting version of Metallica’s " Creeping Death". Electric Swan‘s version of “Creeping Death” it’s structurally the same but not as tight as the original., As for the other two cover songs, I can’t comment on whether or not they’re faithful to their originals.

Electric Swan proves to be a wonderful band that musically harkens back to the golden age of hard rock with modern technology. One might even think this is a band from 1972, which with the exception of the Metallica cover would be a fair assessment. The band’s self titled is very recommended to fans of the aforementioned bands as well as the harder edged progressive rock.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on January 9th, 2009


01. In The Hush Of Daze
02. Electric Swan
03. You Love Been So Good To Me
04. Eleventh Angel
05. Beyond The Rising Sun
06. calibro 9
07. Crossing The Line
08. Redwitch
09. Teaser
10. Apollo's Dream
11. Creeping Death

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2009,, All Rights Reserved.