Artist/ Band: Dreadnaught
Title: Musica En Flagrante
Label: Big Balloon Music/ Red Fez Records
Year of Release: 2004

official Dreadnaught website

(click on the link above, for ALL band information on this and the band's other cds)

The Review:

Dreadnaught are one of those bands who is almost genre bending experience. Musically they hover around musical styles like ‘classical, rock, jazz, country, blues & avant-garde, noise, This is ‘fusion’ in the pure definition of the word! Musica En Flagrante is their fourth release (second one that reviewed) and this time it’s all-instrumental.

The band’s current line-up is made up of Bob Lord (bass, keyboards, programming), Justin Walton (guitars, keys, Rhodes, saxophone) and drummer Tim Haney, with guest musicians supplying harmonica and violin.

With the wide range of styles, Dreadnaught to me is an experience and they continue their own brand of progressive music on Musica En Flagrante. Its never boring, always fresh with each listen and in the truest sense, a "progressive" band. Dreadnaught is for those listeners that like adventurous music much like a rollercoaster with lots of twists and turns.

Dreadnaught has always intrigued me and it’s such a treat to hear their music. So go to their website, listen for yourself to the samples and then buy this modern document of progressive music.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on June 22nd, 2004


1. R. Daneel Olivaw
2. One Trick Pony
3. Kazak, The Hound of Space
4. Tiny Machines
5. Northern Pike
6. Gulf of Tonkin
7. Are Your Pants Down? (Pants Down)
8. Pull Your Pants Down (Pants Down)
9. Big Cats
10. Therondy For The Victims of Brother Theodore
11. Fanfare For A Losing Team
12. The Boston Crab
13. Winston Niles Rumfoord
14. Elba (never come back, I want you gone)
The Sirens Of Titan (Tracks 15-18)
15. Chrono-synclastic Infundibulum
16. Back Through Newport, Rhode Island
17. Unk And Boaz In The Caves Of Mercury
18. Salo
19. Royal Jelly

Copyright © 1998-2004,, All Rights Reserved.