Artist/ Band: Chaos Code
Title: Propaganda
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2005
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

Chaos Code is another “new to me” band and it was nice to be contacted by the band to send me a copy of their latest album, Propaganda, so I could review it. Propaganda is the band's third album. The band consists of a quartet of musicians, drummer Patrick Gaffney, bassist Gary Curtis, Cliff Phelps (guitar, vocals, flute) and keyboardist Tom Langan. Joining them on horns and backing vocals are Jose Silva, Barry Caudill & Dave Makowiecki.

This is one of the few albums I came across that covers several genres. One moment they are guitar-driven, the next very atmospheric. They blend all the styles perfectly thus creating what I’d have to say, some of the most original sounding progressive rock I’ve heard in ages. The band truly embraces the mentality of the original bands of the 70's and continues in a progressive way of thinking. Combined with a modern production, gives for a very enjoyable listen over and over. I also like each song especially “A New Domination”, with it’s symphonic jazzy induced metal instrumentation.

I can surely say this band will win over the hearts and ears of both old and new progressive rock fans. Even rock fans that want more than the typical three-chord dribble. I don’t know if this sounds like a I'm over-hyping the band but but I would seriously rank Propaganda very high on my favorite albums of all time. I hope they continue onward and give us new unique sounds.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on May 6th, 2006


1. The Chameleon
2. Calling to Shadows
3. A New Domination
4. The Last Assignment

Failure System One
5. Revising History
6. Saturated
7. Bacon for Swine
8. Fortune Cookie Leaflet
9. In the Revealing Light of Betrayal
10. Emergence

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2006,, All Rights Reserved.