Artist/ Band: Burning Saviours
Title: Nymphs & Weavers
Label: Transubstans Records
Year of Release: 2007
Artist/ Band Link (click for more details)

The Review:

Burning Saviours, named after a Pentagram song, came together in 2003 when Mikael Marjanen (guitar) and Martin Wijkström (drums) discussed starting a band rooted in heavy rock/doom metal. They teamed up with Fredrik Everson (bass) & Andrei Matinees (vocals/guitar) to record two demos and two albums (2005’s Burning Saviours, 2006’s Hundus). In late 2006, vocalist/guitarist Andrei Amartinesei left and was replaced by Fredrik Andersson on vocals and Henry Pyykkö on guitar.

In October 2007 their third album, Nymphs and Weavers, was released by Transubstans Records. In many ways with the new line-up, it has a fresh start and for those new to the band, like myself, don’t feel the need to revisit the first two releases for continuity purposes. I feel Burning Saviours along with Black Bonzo covers the essence of the hard rocking 1970’s that had an adventuresome curiosity about the way they crafted songs.

Some of the highlights are the opening track, “Looking After The Phyre” and “The Spellweaver”. The rest of the album sounds good but these two are songs I tend to revisit during the writing of this review. If you enjoyed what Black Bonzo gave the modern music world, then you must pick up ‘Nymphs And Weavers’. In the age of retro rock and prog, Sweden reign supreme with it’s entries of yesteryear into a modern boring music world. Very recommended!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on January 24th, 2008


1. Looking After The Phyre
2. Pondhilllow´s Finest
3. The Spellweaver
4. Woodnymph
5. Dreaming Of Pastries
6. Signs
7. Trinity
8. Hillside Mansion
9. Exposed To The Heat Of Solace

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2008,, All Rights Reserved.