Artist: Barka Vall
Title: Skogslot
Label/ Date: Lion Music 2000


1. Djavulsfalt [5:48]
2. Skam Over Mig [3:19]
3. Kallbrand [3:52]
4. Fa Min Grat [3:58]
5. Sjalaskrik [4:17]
6. Dansa Dig Vild [5:45]
7. Blotargille [5:19]
8. Stilla Wark [4:58]
9. I Vinets Dimmor [6:01]
10. Herr Peders Sjoresa [6:25]
11. Ingen Till Rors [7:23]

Bonus/ Hidden Track:
12. 13th

The Review:

Here is a totally unique ethnic progressive folk rock/metal band from the Aland Islands, which for those like myself that aren't familiar, is between Sweden & Finland.

This 7 piece band is fronted by female vocalist/violinist, Ella Grussner (Condition Red) who is joined by fellow Condition Red member Torgny Stjarnfelt. He is the second singer on Condition Red but on Barka Vall his primary role is being a guitarist.

All the vocals are sung in Swedish, which for an American like myself it's hard to follow but the vocals are almost like instruments so that quickly fades as a down side for me.

From what I read the lyrical themes are inspired by Scandanvia's dark past of witchcraft and superstition.

The music is very well done from traditional sounds to ethnic percussions to some tasty hammond organ and violin playing through out.

Another highly recommended CD to come to me in a while, epecially for those that don't mind foreign vocals. Seems that that part of the world has great female vocalists in abundancy and it's always a treat for my ears to hear those angelic vocals.

~Ron for [August 3rd, 2002]

Band Members:

Isabella "Cocki" Sarling - Lead Vocals, Didgeridoo, Percussion, Lyrics
Tony Mattsson - Drums, Percussion
Niclas "Nicke" Stjarnfelt - Drums, Percussions, Backing Vocals
Torgny "Totte" Stjarnfelt - Guitar, Vocals
Ella "Bodi" Grussmer - Lead Vocals, Violin, Fiddle, Didgeridoo, Percussion, Song and text writer
Hans-Erik "Hanski" Ramstrom - Bass,Hurdy Gurdy, Guitars
Orjan Sjostrom - Keyboards, Backing Vocals

Copyright 1998-2002,, All Rights Reserved.