Artist/ Band: Artifex
Title: Artifex
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2005
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

Hailing from Sweden, Artifex, a brand new power trio band comprised of Magnus ÷stborg (bass) Gustav Almlof (drums) and Kristofer Dahl (guitar). They have many influences, anywhere from thrash metal to jazz-fusion styling and even some Texas style boogie.

Their entire debut album is instrumental except for the final track, which is listed as a bonus track, called Disarmed. On this track guest vocalist David Ahlund is added and to me gives the band leeway to explore their metal side while retaining the fusion feel. The one track that is different is Blazing Saddles. Thatís where the afore mentioned Texas-style boogie comes in. You can see the band has a good sense of humor. You could probably think of them as a Swedish metallic version of Dixie Dregs on that song.

If you arenít sold on the above description, then head on over to Artifexís website for full mp3 songs that are downloadable. I would, after absorbing the downloads, go ahead and purchase their CD. This way you can help support this bandís future. This is the surprise release of 2005 and recommended!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on October 25th, 2005


1. The Green Robot
2. Let's Rumble
3. The Reliable Blue Line
4. Jack Falco
5. Bad Joke
6. Blazing Saddles
7. The Fuse
8. Xiphias
9. The Meditating Bar
10. Clear The Front
11. Disarmed (bonus track)

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2005,, All Rights Reserved.