Artist/ Band: Age of Nemesis
Title: Terra Incognita
Label: Magna Carta
Year of Release: 2007
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

After Hungarian progressive metal band Age of Nemesis’s debut on Magna Carta, comes a re-make of their 2002 recording Terra Incognita (which was originally sung in their native tongue). The band has been releasing albums since around the late 1990's, in their native language as Nemesis. Upon joining the Magna Carta family, they upgraded, if you will, to Age Of Nemesis. With new lyrics in the English language, singer Zoltan Kiss delivers in an accentless style that reminds me of a mixture of James LaBrie and Ian Gillan with the latter being the dominant trait. I’ve often described this band to friends as ‘what if Ian Gillan and Jon Lord were James and Jordan’s replacement in Dream Theater".

Originality in this genre is very limited but when you get a band like Age Of Nemesis you know the music is going to be done the right way with little to no cheese and all in your face playing. The musicians in the band know when and where to add their talents without stepping over each other. Joining Zoltan are Zoltan Fabian (guitars), Gyorgy Nagy (keyboards). Gábor Pressmark (bass) and László Nagy (drums).

After several listens you’ll see the band has what it takes to be spoken in the same breath as Dream Theater, Symphony X, Vanden Plas, Rainbow, Deep Purple and other similar artists. If you like your progressive metal with variety of guitar and keyboard textures, then Age Of Nemesis is the band for you and they’re album Terra Incognita is a must have purchase. There’s not a bad track on the entire album! Recommended!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on February 17th, 2007


1. Tree of Life
2. Meeting with the Unbelieveable
3. The Land of Light
4. The Secret
5. Another Existence
6. Inner Fire
7. Inferno
8. Someone Must Take the Blame
9. Forgive Me My Foolish Crime
10. Why?
11. Bleeding Moon
12. Plummeting Into Eternity

Reviewed Discography

Here are other reviews by this artist at

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2007,, All Rights Reserved.