Artist: Alfy Betz and The Salt Lake Bad Boys

Title: S/T

Produced by: Al Betz

Label/ Date: Self release/ 2003

Contact Band


1. River of Fire
2. Waltz For Nobody
3. The Fool
4. Letters to Karumo
5. Blue Rider
6. Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds
7. Fantasy in C# Minor
8. Sunday at the Pool

The Review:

The music of Alfy Betz’ second release, this time as “And The Salt Lake Bad Boys”, is based in a light fusion/symphonic style with the piano as the main instrument. The songs are rather pleasant and thankfully instrumental but in all honesty there’s no “fire” within the band. They seem to be on some sort of cruise control through out the disc. The musicianship is the only upside of this release. I feel they can do better if they got away from the “lighter” side of things and let loose. They have the talent and structure as a band to pull off a great progressive or fusion recording. I’ll have to stay tuned and see what’s to come for Alfy Betz.

~Ron for [February 3rd, 2004]

Band Members:

Al Betz - Keyboards
Fred Betz - Hammond (track 3)
Matthew Loel T. Hepworth - Bass
Sneez - Drums
Matt Moore - Percussion
Mark Foshbender, Richard Myrup, Jonni Lightfoot - Guitars
B.J. Martin - Lead guitar (track 7)
Amy Jackson, Rick E. Nelson - Violin
Ron Bloomquist - Soprano sax

Copyright © 1998-2004,, All Rights Reserved.